Sunday Confessional: release the happy

Confession: who knew that a kids movie would be so profound.

364 days from today I will hopefully definitely be writing a recap of walking my first half marathon.

Until then I need to focus on the things that make me successful now.
In the famous words of Will the Krill from Happy Feet2 I’m going to spend the year finding things that “release my happy”
I can really get negative when it comes to my recovery. Again this morning, for example, being asked to sing in Church. My breathing is NO where it needs to be to singing near a microphone. However, when I’m asked I feel bad that I say no. Then I get frustrated that I’m not ready. Why is this one thing so slow and hard to deal with?

But, then on the drive home Thing2 and I had a blast seat dancing to All About the Bass. That was releasing my happy. I don’t release my happy enough anymore.

Confession: I was a bit of a two year old about things on Saturday.

I knew that I couldn’t be at the event because instead of being joyful about the others, my selfish mind would only be thinking of what I was supposed to be doing.

Confession: I know that it’s shallow and awful. But it’s also my truth.

So in order to release my happy I am going to train like a crazy person for this half marathon. I am choosing to look at it in miles, since 13 miles sounds a whole lot less than 21 kilometres.

I will be signing up for Maritime Race Weekend 2015 as soon as registration starts. To top it all off, I’m going to sign up for the Tartan Twosome. So, Friday night I will walk 5k and then Saturday morning I will conquer the distance that evaded me this year. Anyone brave enough to do this with me????

I read online that a fit person can walk a half in around 4hrs, so that is going to be my goal.

Dance Song today: God’s Not Dead by The Newsboys

Until later.

IMG_1666.JPG
See, there’s some happy there!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunday Confessional: release the happy

  1. Brenda says:

    Love your honesty and pluck. Keep it going šŸ™‚ you will get there.

  2. Wow, that’s awesome! Walk that 13miles girl! You can do it. I so wish I could, I walked an hour and a half with hubby on Tuesday (along with a horseback ride ) and my right hip is still so darn tight from it. šŸ˜¦ as for your recovery…. I can imagine it. Gets frustrating for you at times, but look at what you can do!!! Be happy with that.

  3. peady says:

    Release your happy. I *love* that!
    I love that you are looking forward. That’s important. I think I have not been doing that for myself lately (and I don’t like it).
    This is a great post! I know you will reach your goals!
    They are *totally* in reach. šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

