Sunday Confessional: the art of giving thanks

IMG_0106.JPG
Confession: I’ve said thank you a lot since May.

As we sat down to supper tonight and I looked around at my kids, the hubby, the in laws and the girlfriend of the kid I realized that this Thanksgiving is perfect.

We say thank you every single day. Whether it be for being handed a tissue by your hubby, or when you thank the Starbucks barista for your latte.

Confession: I think that the art of thanks has become almost a knee jerk reaction.

So, does that mean that it starts to lose its impact?

For me, thanks this year was very important. There were times when all I could do was say thank you.

Thanks this year was for every prayer said for me. Thanks was for every gift given. Thanks this year was simply this:

It was my thanks for all of you who helped me stay alive.

The meal was tasty and laughs were had, slightly marred by the passing of an amazing man. But thanks were given for the simple fact that I am here to give thanks.

To give thanks everyday I wake up, take a breath and start my day.

I am truly grateful because I know I am blessed beyond the simple art of thank you’s.

Until later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Confessional: the art of giving thanks

  1. peady says:

    Thank you for sharing your stories. Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Terry says:

    Well done!

Leave a Reply

