Sunday Confessional: what it means

IMG_0851.JPG

Confession: there are days where I think my kids are just too grown up.

I have flashes of the year we moved into our house. Sarah was one, Michael was four. I still remember it. I remember both first days of school, I remember both first days of junior high. I remember the swing set and the sprinkler fun and the snow angels.

But, I’m not sad about where I am now. What does it mean?

Confession: I like having grown kids.

I realize my Christmas’s with them both at home are numbered. I know that sooner than later, I will see them on Skype rather than in person.

Tonight, I’m no where near sooner.

Today, as a family, we sat and laughed and giggled through all three Tim Allen Santa Clause movies. Then Thing2 and I left for Sunday school. On the way we played “Christmas light fights”. It’s impossible to explain our lunacy but rest assured, by the time we reached the Church, our sides hurt from laughing. Then, we took the long way home to see all the lights in another part of town.

Confession: I love my car rides with her.

What it means is simply this. Kids grow up, but one thing never changes. They will always remember the fun and laughter. That is what they will pass on to their kids.

In 25 years when we allow them to have some! Hahaha.

Until later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Confessional: what it means

  1. wbdeejay says:

    Great thoughts! Anyone that can bring up their children with joy and laughter like you say, is certainly doing good.

Leave a Reply

