Sunday Confessional: It isn’t easy being Epic

Confession: I almost gave up during my walk yesterday. 

  I got up that morning and was pumped. I had a great breakfast, had a great friend pick me up and we were on our way. 
This is my first experience with the Epic series of runs/walks. 

Confession: I was in it for the medals. 

  
The Epic Canadian event was the first of many in the Epic series. There is a 10k that kicked off at 8am, a 5k (my event) that kicked off at 9:30am. Mixed in there was the Epic Swim (a 5k swim). Sunday brought the Epic Dartmouth Triathon as well as the Epic Kids Tri as well. 

It was very family friendly and it had an awesome vibe for all shapes sizes and abilities. I was also thrilled to run into some friends I hadn’t seen in a while. 

  
I had known about the race a couple of years ago, but never had the nerve. Until Stacy from Sole Sisters cooked up an awesome incentive of a second finishers medal for have your Sole Sisters shoe bling on 

 It’s a sneaky way to make me get another 5k under my belt. 

Tim Chesnutt (and Stacy’s hubby) runs this whole weekend event. Sadly, I didn’t get a chance to meet him but he and Stacy (who I did see) were very busy. I give him kudos for the running of the event, it was spot on. 

 The 5k route was all around Lake Banook. It was a lovely day weather wise (last year everyone almost drowned it rained so heavily). 

Confession: it was in the first 2k that had me wondering if I could do this one. 

In a combination of panic over not wanting to be last and excitement to be doing this, I came around the first corner and onto the hill going to fast. Soon, I was hyperventilating. The. Those thoughts started. The cop probably thinks I’m too unfit to do this. Every person who passed me made me panic more. There was no getting my breathing under control, and I had to stop a second time. Donna was with me through it all talking to me, distracting me 

   However, there was one moment when I literally said out loud to Donna “what was I thinking” I heard some music and voices from behind 
  
I heard Elle say “just breathe, in through your nose out through your mouth you got this”

Confession: what I didn’t say out loud but was thinking at that moment: my nose isn’t fucking big enough to get air in I need a medic. A cute medic. 

So there we were. The four of us! Elle’s music providing distraction while we made our way up the never ending hill. 

I was never so happy to turn the corner and see the downhill portion. I cried a little (and video bombed Elle) 

From the suspension bridge by the circ to the finish line we lost Elle and Tammi (I believe they answered a nature call) but Donna and I chatted and talked and kept moving (cause if I had stopped moving I would not have started again haha)

The finishers were beginning to walk back to their cars and they were very supportive cheering us on. That’s the one thing I notice at the races I’ve been to, the other competitors are always there with a kind word when you need it most. 

Confession: I am so proud of this race. Because I didn’t give up. And boy did I want to. 

There was post race watermelon and snow cones and they were awesome!!! They had an awesome showcase of vendors including the Leukemia Lymphoma Society. So I got to see my purple family!!!! Which helped me too!!!  

 I really am looking forward to next year and possibly walking the 10k instead. 

Tim and Stacy are an amazing couple and deserve LOTS of praise for organizing events that people come from miles around to compete in and push themselves. 

This weekend: I was EPIC. It wasn’t easy but it was so worth it. 

Until later.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunday Confessional: It isn’t easy being Epic

  1. Laura at Mommy Miracles says:

    YOU WERE SO EPIC!!

    Was it raining last year too? I didn’t do it last year but I did do it the year before (I believe that was the first year for it) and my goodness were we soaked!! I was signed up for the 10k that year and thought I was going to rock it. I lived nearby and ran that route all the time… But I ran it the other direction. Huge steep, but quick hill. The other way? I wasn’t prepared for that hill of death. Also of note: the 10k route that first year was just two times this year’s 5k route. I ran up that hill the first time. The second, I was exactly where you were. Couldn’t breathe. Definitely couldn’t run. Pretty sure I couldn’t do it at all. It was brutal.

    So I get it. But YOU DID IT!!! And I’m so proud of you! You totally are epic. And inspiring!! 😀

  2. Sunflower gal says:

    So happy to read your blog. Your EPIC!

  3. Poppy says:

    Congratulations! I saw you near the end of the race as I was walking back to my car. I overheard you talking about how you had wanted to quit the race and I remember thinking how glad I was to see that you had stuck it out. Like you, that first hill almost did me in, but the support from others is so much a part of this event and helps to get you through the hard stuff. Way to power through and I hope to see you again next year!

  4. rawngreen says:

    It was great talking to you before the 5 km. I forgot my Sole Sister shoe bling, but they were really sweet and gave me the extra medal.
    You did great! Never give up. Every step you take is in the direction of your goals. Never lose that amazing smile.
    I hope we meet again.

  5. wbdeejay says:

    Awesome work. Well done.

Leave a Reply

