Sunday Confessional: just one….

Confessional: the Christian church began our Advent celebrations today. 

Week one: hope 

Hope for each other, hope for ourselves and hope for the world around us. 

Just one little word, hope, and yet it carries a lot of weight. Having hope is powerful. Losing hope is excruciating. Being given the gift of hope is life altering. 

Confessional: I struggle with my hope. 

It’s there with me one day and feels very elusive the next. 

However, one thing never changes for me. My hope for my future is never more sure footed than when I hear music.

Whether it be to sing amongst a group of children like I did today or to break out in dance at Zumba. 

Music is my hope. 

In Thursday I heard a song in Zumba that almost stopped me in my tracks. It was like it was written for me. 

Like my favorite line from Coyote Ugly: 

 “I remember the first time my mom played me ‘Bridge Over Trouble Water’ by Simon and Garfunkel. I remember exactly what she was wearing… and I remember exactly how her hair smelled… and I remember exactly how I felt. And now every time I hear that song I remember exactly what she was wearing… and exactly how her hair smelled… and exactly how I felt. Because the great songs last forever.”

This new song sparked my hope. I’m gonna do my damndest to keep it lit. 

Until later. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

