Sunday Confessional: the last one 

Confession: this morning was my last race. 

Next Confession: I’m not sad about it like I thought I would be. 


Thankfully it was a warm rainy day (cause it’s been frighteningly cold lately) for the event. I mean if you have to walk in the rain, it is so much better when it’s warm. 

I am so glad I opted to have Stacy Chestnutt’s Sole Sister’s be my last one. There is such a woman’s empowerment feeling there. It was a timed event (by choice, Stacy allowed you to opt out of the timing) and it was your choice of 5k a quarter or half marathon. 

I chose the 5k to not put too much pressure on myself. I had a few friends there with me 


Which was a great distraction from the wet and chilly walk. There were lots of hugs and smiles and laughter. 

My official chip time for my last 5k race was 59:42 so that made me proud too!! 

For me, I am deciding to focus on activities that don’t cause me the after effects that walking give me now. Today, now, my left nerve in my back is on fire and the plantar fasciitis in my left foot is flaring. 

These are not things that happen during Body Combat and Zumba. Here in lies the issue. Doing these races inevitably make it hard for a week or so in class and that is frustrating. 

So thank you Stacy for making my last 5k a memorable and awesome one. 

Here’s to the next part of my journey. 

Until later.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Confessional: the last one 

  1. Looks like it was such a great event! I’m sad I couldn’t be there this year. Take care of yourself and hopefully you’ll be back to body combat and zumba pain free soon.

Leave a Reply

