Sunday Confessional: journeys

Confession: I’m an impatient woman. 

We live in a world of convienece. Everything we want is has to be now. Now now now. 

We have unlearned patience. 

I find it especially glaring when it comes to my health journey. I just want to wake up tomorrow healthy and happy and of course slimmer. 

I know I’m fit. But I still struggle. Especially on days where my body fails me. Like at the parade yesterday. The perception of me ridding on the back of the truck haunts me. I don’t do it because I’m big and lazy. I do it because my body doesn’t take well to hills anymore. I can out Combat or Zumba anyone but put us both on a hill and I’m toast. 

I struggle with impatience with my body. Knowing this may probably never change no matter what weight I am. 

Somedays I just want the journey to be done. I want to be at my healthy weight enjoying my life. 

Then you have to say ‘but Nicole you need to enjoy the journey and your body as it is now’

Not doing so makes the journey harder. 

Confession: I’m not afraid of the journey being hard. Just of it being long. 

Until later. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Confessional: journeys

  1. Holly Troy says:

    Oh my gosh! I completely relate – “I’m not afraid of the journey being hard. Just of it being long.”

Leave a Reply

